06
May
09

Reformed Shoe Hater: Once They Hit Your Feet It’s So Good

I came across the Dr. Scholl’s Disco while perusing the Chicago-based blog Possessionista. At first glance, I thought: “What the hell? No way this homie’s ever gonna be caught dead in some Croc wannabes—or Crocs for that matter! My momma didn’t raise no fool. Word.” Or more accurately, it went something like this: “Ewwwwwwwww!” Nevertheless, I was being a shoe hater.

Dr. Scholl's Disco in Surf Strip PU

Dr. Scholl's Disco in Surf Strip PU

After my gangsta fit subsided, I realized that—like most things in life—sometimes a shoe deserves a second chance. Upon closer inspection, I began to see the Disco in a new light. Sure, I would never wear these to the office or to girls’ night, but I could definitely see myself walking along Lake Michigan in these puppies. In fact, with its comfortable cushion insoles and adjustable straps, the Disco seems perfect for most tourist attractions throughout the spring and summer seasons. Just be sure to leave your fanny pack at home.

The reviews on Shoe Buy only furthered my new assessment of the Disco, which racked up an impressive 4 1/2 stars. In addition to the colors shown here, Dr. Scholl’s sells them in brown, black, beige and red. I’m partial to the Surf Strip PU myself. If you’re gonna go out on a limb, why not go all the way out there?

Be sure to stop by Possessionista’s blog for a discount code to receive an additional 10 percent off the Disco.

Dr. Scholl's Disco in Yellow Vintage Floral

Dr. Scholl's Disco in Yellow Vintage Floral


8 Responses to “Reformed Shoe Hater: Once They Hit Your Feet It’s So Good”


  1. May 6, 2009 at 6:06 am

    Those shoes look like something you would poke with stick.

  2. 2 possessionista
    May 6, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    Haha, yes, poke them with a stick, then take them hope, put them on the grill and have the best. dinner. ever.

    Thanks for the shout out.

    Here’s another tip – use the code SPRING10 at Shoes.com for $10 off any purchase of $50 or more.

    xo
    The Possessionista

    http://tightenyourbelt.blogspot.com

  3. 3 Elizabeth Riley
    May 6, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    I was right there with you _anomaly, but after doing my research all I found were great reviews. We’re just going to have to take Possessionista’s word for it. Apparently they look way better on than they do in the photo.

    Thanks for the tip Possessionista. I’m not sure we sold them on the Disco, but we sure did try.

  4. May 6, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    Okay. I’m not 100% BUT these have the potential to be the carefree outdoor summer shoe. Think a bright malliot swim suit, short shorts, floppy sun hat and cocktail…

  5. 5 richelecole
    May 6, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    Very intriguing! The yellow ones are kind of starting to grow on me…

  6. 6 jennfree
    May 6, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    I’m a total Croc hater. I would try to invent a time machine for the sole purpose of going back to the moment someone thought Crocs might be a good idea, and STOP HIM.

    But these are kinda growing on me! I like the patterned straps. I could totally see wearing them around at a street festival or to summer Sunday brunch.

  7. 7 Elizabeth Riley
    May 6, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    Wendy, I think the cocktails are a MUST with this shoe. Maybe the “shoe goggles” will give our reader’s that extra push to try this shoe out.


Leave a Reply

Shoetube on Twitter

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

