01
Jan
08

The Ball Dropped … So Did My Heart

It was December 31, 2007. As I waited at the train station, all I could think about was how warm my Uggs kept me. Whatever, haters, you know you love ’em (or at the least want ’em, but are too afraid to jump on this late trend bandwagon). Sources say that Uggs are so over, well then how come everyone is still wearing them proudly? Well game on, snooty trendsetters! I will wear them until the day I die. The idea behind my comfy footwear choice: Function trumps fashion.

Anyway … In my frozen state, I hadn’t foreseen what the next few hours would bring. I surrendered my Uggs and got myself in a pair of (as comfy as heels could get) round-toed Nina heels. Jason (my boyfriend) and I got ready at his apartment (he: in a spiffy vest and tie; me: in the smallest black cocktail dress I could find), his friends came over to pre-game, and we were off to party.

Fast forward a handful of hours and it was midnight. We had been having so much fun that I had forgotten about my current obsession — Thanksgiving passed, our anniversary, then Christmas, and still, I have not heard the three special words I had been dying to hear and repeat.

So here we are — 10, 9 … 3, 2, 1 … Happy New Year! My boyfriend and I kissed like we never have before. And as much as I hate to quote a dated line dance from the ’90s, “It was electric.” At that moment, the only thing I cared about was being with a super-awesome guy (despite not having heard those three special words; in fact, I had forgotten all about them).

And like magic, we finished our New Year’s kiss and out it came. He said, “I love you.”

0 Responses to “The Ball Dropped … So Did My Heart”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Shoetube on Twitter

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

