10
Jan
08

Moschino at 3 AM

I need to learn to put myself first sometimes. But I really don’t have the time for that. There’s kids, husband, work, friends in need, work, errands, work, exercise, even the dog. I am doing well when I can put myself fourth, right after preschool holiday productions, editorial deadlines and cleaning out the fridge. Still, New Year’s Eve is on its way. I have the perfect outfit but I can’t celebrate without a new pair of shoes. So I did what any other stressed, but style-obsessed woman would do, I hit the internet at 3 AM.

Of course, you can’t simply Google a designer. You get all those thinly veiled, just-this-side-of-legal “Christian Louboutin for $10 sites. Uh, I’ll pass, thank you. I feel more confident sticking to department store pages. That’s where I found the perfect little pair of Moschino black patent peep toe pumps. But what size?

I thought about ordering two sizes and returning one but going to the post office ranks about 20 on my list and seeing double the credit card charge is not enticing. I took a stab at a 36.5. Wouldn’t ya know it? Too big. So I went to order the 36. All sold out. The chase was on from my living room.

I scoured more websites. Nada. I called everywhere at 7 AM while feeding the baby breakfast (that’s 10 AM on the east coast). I got close with Barneys but she heard me wrong.I don’t want the half velvet, half patent pair. I want the full patent pair.

Do I have to call Italy here? Don’t put it past me, by the way. I knew what I had to do.

That store on 57th in Manhattan. The guy who works the main ladies’ footwear section should be fired. I said “Moschino Cheap & Chic” and clearly he only made out the word “cheap”and rudely told me that “Bergdorf does not carry such merchandise.” I should have told his manager. But, luckily for him, and as I’ve already said, I don’t have time for such things.

Fortunately, a gentleman in the fifth floor department found them and had a 36. I love him and I love the shoes. In 2008, I’ll make time and resolve to put myself at least third.

But I don’t know that I will give up hunting for shoes from my den.

0 Responses to “Moschino at 3 AM”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Shoetube on Twitter

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

