23
Jan
08

Fish Out of Water

I have looked a lot of ways, sexy, cute, and hip. But I have never looked just plain pretty. By pretty, I mean in the way that Audrey Hepburn or Dorothy Dandridge dressed.

I, on the other hand, consider myself as a comfy chic type of girl. I never believed in sacrificing my comfort for fashion. But when my mother approached me a two summers ago to participate in her first annual hat and tea party, I had a dilemma. This was a formal dressy event, and I had to find an appropriate outfit.

I have never attended such an event. I thought I had to dress up like girly girl. I mustered up an outfit that I thought would reach my mothers approval. I wore a brown chiffon dress, with a black top, and a pair black and tan crochet Colin Stuart round toe Mary Jane pumps with a 2.5 inch heel.

Now for our sinfully chic girls a 2.5 inch heel isn’t a problem, but I felt extremely uncomfortable. And it got even worse; my lovely mother shoved a camera in my hands and made me a last minute videographer.

But as I stood there I noticed the women I am taping looked so pretty and they didn’t fit the mold of a girly girl. I wanted to be like them.

The next year I prepared early. I wore black and white strapless party dress with a matching hat, gloves, and a sensible pair of black Nine-West peep-toe pumps. My outfit was a hit, I felt comfortable and I had a great time. In the crowd I notice a young lady surveying my outfit. She was dressed nicely but looked uncomfortable. She was learning too that she doesn’t have to fit the mold either. See you next year!

0 Responses to “Fish Out of Water”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Shoetube on Twitter

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

