28
Jan
08

The Swoosh and The Swoon

All right I confess: my favorite reason for watching Without Limits is the opportunity to lustily gaze at Billy Crudup playing the late legendary distance running phenom Steve Prefontaine. Those deep brown eyes, those fetching hair flips, the slow, smirking bites of his lower lip like he’s contemplating all sorts of naughty things to do to me…

Ahem.

Sorry, I’m afraid I got distracted there. As I was saying, my second-favorite reason for watching the film is the sneakers.

Prefontaine (better known as “Pre”) got his wish of running for track coach Bill Bowerman (played by Donald Sutherland) at the University of Oregon. Pre got his wish, and on the first day of practice was granted one of my wishes–running sneakers tailor-made just for one’s little old own two feet.

Bill measured the feet of each runner of his team and then, using a sewing machine and his wife’s waffle iron, perfectly crafted two shoes for each runner. I can only imagine the joy of something so practical yet so decadent. Finally perfect support for my high arches, and no undo pinching around my toes. Aaah…

Unfortunately custom-fit sneakers are neither easily found nor easily paid for. In the meantime though, you can share in a bit of that University of Oregon magic. First, buy a pair of sneaks from the company that Bill Bowerman created–Nike.

Then do like I do: Watch Without Limits, put on your new Nikes and go for a run, imagining that you and Billy Crudup are racing into the sunset. Trust me: with that kind of encouragement you are sure to hang in there for that last grueling half-mile.

0 Responses to “The Swoosh and The Swoon”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Shoetube on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

