11
Feb
08

How To Be Insanely Tall

When visiting someone for the weekend or overnight, doesn’t it feel weird to realize you wore the wrong shoes and are now stuck with them for the entire visit?

I had this pair of chunky-heeled boots I wore all the time during my senior year of college. They were black, came up a few inches past the ankle, laced up, and had a huge chunky heel. In a way they resembled combat boots with a big fat heel. I’m 5′ 7″ and wearing these boots made me 5′ 11″ or thereabouts, so I always felt like a giant walking across campus. I loved them, however, so it didn’t matter that I sometimes felt like a large Scandinavian woman named Helga while wearing them. These boots were my footwear of choice when I went to visit a friend of mine in Princeton for the weekend. My friend might be five feet tall, but barely. I also met her then-boyfriend for the first time, who was about 5′ 5″, as well as her other friends who weren’t exactly future NBA players, either. Needless to say, I felt like the large Amazonian friend visiting the people of Munchkinland for the weekend! I didn’t mind too much feeling like a giant all weekend, but now, before selecting my footwear for the day, evening, or weekend, I ask myself whether or not I want to be nearly six feet tall today and whether or not Munchkinland is on my schedule before leaving my apartment!

0 Responses to “How To Be Insanely Tall”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Shoetube on Twitter

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

