12
Feb
08

Shoes We Love Right Now

I just threw a birthday party for my four-year-old daughter. It was a sea of preschoolers in frilly dresses. To a child, there’s nothing like getting into a pink tutu and covering yourself with paint and cake frosting. And their shoes! Sparkles everywhere. Red sequined slippers, yellow glittery clogs, purple shining Mary Janes. It’s as if Princess Barbie and her ilk sprinkled some sort of fairy dust over every three to six year old female. But, in doing so, I think Tinkerbelle got a bit on me. I am in love with sequins this month. I snatched up a pair of limited edition Converse for Neiman Marcus silver sequined sneakers, the kind with grommets but no laces. They’re perfect for jazzing up sleepy loungewear. And Juicy Couture is doing all sorts of champagne sparkled d’orsay flats, pink thongs and cap toe creations. Christian Louboutin and Manolo Blahnik chime in with vampy spike heels in every sequined shade of the rainbow. But I prefer my sparkle paired with jeans or cords. The high heel versions are too forced for my style. Give me grubby weekend wear and slightly out of place sequined shoes any day. Throw in some left over cake and things look even brighter.

0 Responses to “Shoes We Love Right Now”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Shoetube on Twitter

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

