10
Mar
08

Pump Me UP?

They say to really understand a woman, you have to walk a mile in her shoes. If said shoes were cute, even better. However, I don’t plan to take any mile long treks in the near future, so I guess that point is null. Having said that, I’ve been thinking lately about the basic black pump.

These days, I am on my feet a lot at work, and heels just seem a poor choice of attire; I opt for flats on most days. Every now and again, a girl has to pump it up a fashion-notch. And so, my quest for the perfect black pump begins.

I have always coveted a pair of Marc by Marc Jacobs black heels. They’re sinfully beautiful with a peep toe. On the other hand, they’re impossibly too tall—and financially out of reach.

My next stop was Nine West. Nuncio, a look for less, caught this shoe-lover’s eyes. For $73, they seemed to be the clear winner.

Then I realized, I work with children, on my feet, all day. Shiny patent leather could possibly be inappropriate. The heels also seem impractical, a bit uncomfortable.

After leaving Nine West, and the mall altogether, I walked out of Target feeling rather triumphant that day. I had spent $30 on a pair of absolutely adorable, completely comfortable…flats. Yes, despite my best efforts to find the perfect black pumps, I stuck with an old, familiar friend.

So maybe when it comes to work, comfort and style make for a great pair.

-Rebecca Mercurio

0 Responses to “Pump Me UP?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Shoetube on Twitter

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

