17
Mar
08

Broke, Busted, and Disgusted … ah, La Dolce Vita

(ed’s note: Shoetube has a shoe-crush on Shaunte’s pick. Check out our “spy day” Daily Shoe for March 4.)

I must admit, I’ve been a little depressed as of late. Fortunately for my feet, my emotional state caused me to spend $400 on shoes in the last three days.

Let me elaborate…

I graduated from college with a degree in journalism and graphic design and moved to New York within days of graduation. The move was partially motivated by the ample publishing opportunities, and partially by the need to physically remove myself from the unhealthy relationship I was in.

With clips in my hand and brand new “hire me” shoes on my feet, I embarked on the job hunt.
The mission was to become the greatest writer with the most fabulous shoes.

A year later, after 50+ interviews, a handful of freelance assignments, and two post grad internships, I landed a job at a non-profit arts organization right outside the city. Not exactly the New York Times, but a girl has to start somewhere.

The non-profit publishes a newspaper and I was hired to write for it… or so I thought.

When I started the job I quickly realized that it was approximately 95 percent administrative, leaving me very few opportunities to pitch story ideas.

I’ve held this position for a little over a year, searching for other publishing positions in my free time, but still busting my butt for my fulltime.

A few weeks ago the editor of my company’s publication decided that he didn’t want to write anymore leaving his position open. To make a long and depressing story short, my company offered me the Editor position but didn’t want to give me the title nor the money. Basically they want me to do my own job and his but don’t want to reward me for it.
The money I’m making barley covers the rent for my closet-size New York City apartment, leaving me very little money to splurge on shoes or less important things like food and fun.

And you know, Mama always needs a new pair of shoes! With a dampening feeling of defeat, I did what any girl in my situation would do. I dusted off the credit card and went shopping!
I bought “feel better shoes,” “resignation shoes,” and my favorite, “first day of the new job shoes.” They’re wing-tip, 4 ½ inch, two-tone perfection. I love Dolce Vita pumps! No, I haven’t gotten a new job yet, but when I do, my shoe game will be fierce!
I’m applying to other jobs as we speak, hopefully I will be hired by someone who wants to read my writing and appreciates my wit. Until then, I’m wearing my “feel better shoes” until I actually feel better.

0 Responses to “Broke, Busted, and Disgusted … ah, La Dolce Vita”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Shoetube on Twitter

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

