19
Mar
08

Kill Bill… or just make him beg for mercy

I’ll admit I’m not exactly the queen of the gym.

Treadmills and elliptical machines just remind me of those things you put hamsters on, and, having happily avoided the latest trend, I haven’t worn leggings since the ’80s.

I’d much rather get my sweat on chasing my neighbor’s dog around Prospect Park or doing my best Elaine-from-Seinfeld imitation when my boyfriend’s band plays the Bowery Ballroom.

But even when your main sport isn’t gym-based, you still need the right athletic shoes.

My favorites are the in Army/Gold, which I picked up a while back on my last trip to Australia (the boyfriend’s band played 3 nights in Sydney; I went shopping). Onitsuka Tiger Mexico Tigress

You may remember the styling here from Uma Thurman’s black and yellow Tai Chis in Kill Bill.

These shoes, however, are not so much Kill Bill as Make Bill (or John or Ted) Beg for Mercy. The foot-hugging slip-ons are feminine without being girly, and the colors are the exact opposite of the treacly kicks usually found in the women’s section of your local Foot Locker.

I also love the fact that there are no laces for me to trip over, but that this is still a hardcore sneaker with some serious international street cred. The only thing that might make me give these a rest is when the new tokidoki for Onitsuka Tiger models hit the shelves in May 2008. I haven’t even seen them yet (no one has), but I’m already on the waiting list at my favorite insider sneaker connection.

And no, I won’t say where. After all, a girl’s gotta have a few secrets.

0 Responses to “Kill Bill… or just make him beg for mercy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Shoetube on Twitter

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

