14
Oct
08

Bottles, Pacifiers and Stilettos

When I was a little girl, I wanted to be just like my mom. Well, just like her minus the really, really bad taste in shoes.

My mom was a Birkenstock-wearing, refugee of the 1960’s whose best pair of shoes were a black and white pair of stilletos she wore to a wedding in 1979 and then lost in the back of her closet until roughly 1985 when I discovered them and wore them everyday. They were fabulous and made me stand at least five inches taller than my roughly four foot stature.

They were stylish, sophisticated and fun–the kind of shoes Cinderella donned after her glass slippers–but most of all, they were grown-up. I marked my foot growth by those shoes. My mother, a size 8, watched as my little feet gradually made their way to filling those shoes. But they never went all the way (I am a size 7).

Now little girls no longer have to wait until they are seven. Thanks to two moms with a great idea, little babies ages 0-6 months can share in their mother’s high heel obsession. Heelarious shoes are not REAL stilettos, but are an approximate enough facsimile to have many people in an uproar. “I do not believe children should b dressed like little adults,” one of my closest friends told me.

I agree.

But they are so much fun, I can’t help myself. My youngest child is a boy and I honestly considered buying him a pair because his sister has sadly passed the age where these might fit. Of course, my husband convinced me that it had the potential to alter his entire sense of being. To this I said: so what if my boy did get the shoe gene? I might have–gasp–a new shoe shopping partner?! Sadly, my husband won that argument, but I maintain that his sister would have loved to see them on him.

Alas, I have no one to buy these little shoes for at the moment, it seems an influx of testosterone has taken over my friend’s wombs. But I maintain that these shoes are light and funny and cute. They are all in good fun.

This is because they are soft-sided crib shoes. My daughter had princess robeez that constantly fell off when she was six months. They serve one purpose only: warmth. Would I put heels on my toddler daughter now? Well, no. She still has to grow and I would not want to do anything to make walking uncomfortable for her.

So while I still think walking children ought to wear ergonomically suited baby shoes, I say bring on the heels for the littlest ones. We sleep deprived denizens of parenthood need levity where we can get it.

0 Responses to “Bottles, Pacifiers and Stilettos”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Shoetube on Twitter

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

