02
Dec
08

50,000 Shoes in 50 Days!

As we head into the holidays this year, I am acutely aware of the economy and how many families are struggling. When I read headlines about foreclosed homes and unexpected layoffs, I appreciate all the little luxuries that I used to take for granted.

This morning, I realized that I needed to re-evaluate the price of one of my favorite vices: a venti white mocha with whipped cream. If I give that $5 to Soles4Souls’ 50,000 Shoes in 50 Days donation drive, it will provide 2 people with probably their first pair of shoes.

Suddenly, my caffeine cravings seemed really superfluous. While I have distinct memories of a summer in Huntsville, Alabama when I was just 18 months old, I can’t remember my life before shoes. Can you?

Soles4Souls serves people in impoverished areas, women’s shelters, hospitals, and homeless shelters in the US and abroad. One of their current projects featured on their blog involves Fletcher Allen Health Care at the University of Vermont. Can you imagine braving a brutal Burlington, Vermont winter barefoot?

So far, they have already raised enough for 7,918 pairs of shoes. And, everyone who donates in the remaining 28 days of this fundraising phenomenon will be automatically entered to win a trip to Mexico with Soles4Souls to help hand deliver some of these 50,000 shoes. (Wouldn’t that make for an exciting Shoetube blog entry?)

Everyone in the Shoetube community obviously understands the thrill of new shoes. Who knows how much of a difference we could make, if we were all willing to cut out one coffee or martini this week to share our passion with someone less fortunate.

Even people who aren’t able to afford a financial contribution now, should remember Soles4Souls when they cleaning out their closets. This nonprofit will also accept any gently worn shoes that people no longer use.

0 Responses to “50,000 Shoes in 50 Days!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Shoetube on Twitter

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

