17
Dec
08

BAREFOOTIN’

There’s an awkward pause after I tell people I’m blogging for Shoetube.

“Shoes?” they ask.

“Yes, shoes.” I repeat.

“Oh.”

I understand their incredulity. After all, this is probably how they picture me…

After 15 years of choreographing professionally, most of my colleagues and students are accustomed to seeing my soles bared. Some have never encountered me in anything more than mismatched socks.

But folks, outside of the studio, or office, or my home, er…wow, maybe I do spend a lot of time barefoot. So what?

Yes, I did mispronounce Manolo at the Community Servings Life Savor fundraiser. How was I supposed to know that the designer isn’t related to the man who sang, “Mandy”?

Is it my fault that people prefer to associate me with hats? Just because a charming, iridescent, velvet chapeau got me hired once, people forget that I’ve got style in more ways than that. Please give me some credit. I have got real flair down there.

Recently, for example, I have been traipsing around with plastic bags wrapped around my feet, stuffed into, not over, my Aldo sneakers. Those Velcro straps fling open when waddling through snow banks, and I loathe soggy socks. Just last week, a young male dancer declared these to be the sexiest sneakers ever. See? Flair down there.

Leave a Reply

Shoetube on Twitter

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

