02
Jan
09

VANS Solution for Resolutions

I loathe quitting anything. So each January when I promised to stop doing whatever I had targeted for that year, it felt uncomfortable and negative…an irritation that greatly increased when I invariably broke the vow within 48 hours. It soured the start of each year with two unpleasant notes. So eventually, I gave up on New Year’s resolutions.

Of course, as sassy as that sounds I resented being defeated by this simple step towards self-improvement. As someone who tenaciously clings to a dream of being a choreographer in her mid-thirties, I am willing to forgo many things. Why then, were these annual announcements so frustrating?

Jason's Custom Designed VANs

Jason's Custom Designed VANS

As I wandered about during 2008, I contemplated my commitments searching for a common ingredient. I found the answer while staring at Jason’s birthday shoes, a quirky pair of custom designed VANS.

By the way, if you are interested in being more creative, more environmentally friendly, or more physically active this year, I highly recommend these casual shoes. They are available in both men’s and women’s sizes. Designing them online is more fun than Ms Pac-Man and guarantees that you will get exactly what you want with much less industrial waste. Plus, there are so many possible permutations that is practically impossible that you will ever see an identical pair pedal by on the bike path.

Jason’s crazy kicks with their blue suede toe caps, checkered tongue, and cosmic skull graphics illustrate several reasons why I am so enamored with him. His fearless creativity encourages me to be more artistically adventurous. His offbeat sense of humor makes the rough patches more palatable. Blah, blah, mushy blah. You get the point.

That’s when I discovered the common denominator was a shocking 4-letter word: MORE. More is the Mary Poppins’ spoonful of sugar to sweeten my sacrifices. I didn’t marry my husband because I arbitrarily decided to stop dating other men. I gleefully proposed because I wanted to build more of a relationship with Jason. Growth towards this goal excites me.

So for 2009, I am reversing my anti-resolution resolution and am planning to be more appreciative of the people in my life. Would any of you care to share your resolutions?

1 Response to “VANS Solution for Resolutions”



Leave a Reply

Shoetube on Twitter

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

