10
Feb
09

Sweaty Shoes

It may seem odd to talk about the shoes I wear to practice barefoot, but when we are talking about hot yoga–specifically Baptiste Yoga in Cambridge, Mass–in the middle of winter, then it makes more sense.

First, there is the parking issue to contend with. Since Cambridge police are the most ticket happy people in the world during non-recessions, you can imagine how quickly an orange slip appears on a windshield during a recession. I once stood 10 feet from my car, quarter in hand and still could not get out of a Cambridge parking ticket. But I digress.

Even on days I do not want to walk the mile from my house (it gets cold in Bentown!) I park in a 2 hour parking zone about a quarter mile from the studio. Either way, that’s a whole lotta potential for ice slippage on the way in or out. So, shoes must have tread. They must also keep me warm on a long walk.

Baptiste Yoga is done in a 90 degree room. The word “sweaty” does nothing to describe the way a person leaves class. Dripping, drenched, soaked–these all much better words. It is a barefoot practice.

Oh, I know there have been a spate of yoga shoes recently made available. They look like sneakers, but have thin, flexible soles. The tops of the shoes are lightweight to allow air to circulate more freely, which is great–except for the fact that you will be laughed out of a Baptiste class if you try to wear shoes. Lululemon? Yes, please. Adidas sneakers? Not so much.

I need shoes I can wear without socks (that will not smell up my house afterwards), that look nice with yoga pants, that have tread for the ice I encounter and slip easily on in off to combat the crowded entrance and allow me to enter and exit more easily.

It is a tall order. But then I found these:

9755-793514-p1

So long as my toes are well-pedicured, I am good to go in these babies. Of course, I will wonder why between the $14 classes, $40 yoga mat, $100 yoga pants, $50 yoga towel and $90 shoes, it costs me more to do yoga than to ski, I am still (mostly) happy, content and peaceful.
Namaste, indeed.

0 Responses to “Sweaty Shoes”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Shoetube on Twitter

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

