12
Feb
09

Fab First Ladies: Martha Washington Walked Down the Aisle in Style

Her hubby may have had wooden teeth, but when it came to shoes, Martha Washington had excellent taste.

Photo by Gavin Ashworth courtesy of the Washington Post

Photo by Gavin Ashworth courtesy of the Washington Post

Purple, satin, sequins—need I say more?
Martha Washington strolled down the aisle to marry ‘ole George in a fabulous pair of dark purple, satin shoes that were covered in sequins. When it comes to shoes 1700-style, one doesn’t generally conjure up glamorous images, nor do wedding shoes tend to be terribly exciting. What’s even more impressive? These shoes are still in excellent shape for being over 250 years old! I can only wish that some of my favorite shoes outlive me: I’d even be happy with some of them surviving the next 10 years!

I guess part of keeping shoes in that kind of shape is taking excellent care of them. These particular shoes only make an appearance once every 10 years or so. Luckily, for those in the D.C. area, these shoes will be on display at Mount Vernon until February 23, which also happens to be my birthday. Ironic, no?

I must say, these shoes make me look at Mrs. Washington in a whole new light. I mean what kind of “lady” walks down the aisle in purple shoes?! Actually, I’ll tell you what kind: the type of “lady” I would want as my sidekick to shop, gossip, drink martinis, cause scandals, and obviously we would share shoes.

All I can say is, George was one lucky man.

1 Response to “Fab First Ladies: Martha Washington Walked Down the Aisle in Style”


  1. February 26, 2009 at 3:58 am

    OMG those shoes are amazing. I love to see style like that from so many years ago, I find it to be so inspiring!! I can’t wait until that 1700’s royalty/wealthy shoe style becomes a trend, because I think it would be awesome to own a pair like that! It definitely makes us look at history in a completely different light!!


Leave a Reply

Shoetube on Twitter

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

