13
Mar
09

Coyote Not Ugly

coyote

I truly believe that if I search the world over for a particular shoe or boot, based entirely on a design in my head, that in whatever city I find them, I should settle. And so, here I am, living in Berlin.

For the past two years I have been looking for a cross between an engineer boot and a biker boot. The engineer boot, rounded toe and lower heel, brings a little something feminine, while the square-toed biker boot offers the rocker element. Despite what I thought, they were not easy to find.

After searching vintage shops, dry goods stores and the high streets in Toronto, New York, London, Paris and Barcelona my prayers were answered by the buyers for Saloon Boots in the Kreuzberg neighborhood of Berlin.

Established some 22 years ago, Saloon Boots caters to the cowboy in all of us, and more recently it seems, the hard-edged engineer. Stocking brands like Blundstone and Coyote, their selection wouldn’t necessarily take you to a black-tie affair, but you’d be in good company after-hours with the bartender, smoking in the basement.

0 Responses to “Coyote Not Ugly”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Shoetube on Twitter

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

