Archive for March 19th, 2009

19
Mar
09

Eco Can be Fun!

I might have mentioned it before, but the only thing green about me is the wad of cash I whip out at the end of the night to pay my bar tab. Recycling is confusing: Is this Lean Cuisine box recyclable or simply trash? Is it the second or third Tuesday after a holiday weekend when the trash guys pick-up?bjl

However, when it comes to shoes—I say bring on the hand me downs, especially when the hand me downs are never-been-worn duds from specialty boutiques all over Baltimore. That’s right it is time for the Baltimore Junior League Boutique sale. Last year I scored 6 pairs of shoes retailing for over $2,500 for under $200! If you are a popular shoe size (7-8) I urge you to splurge and attend the pre-party preview. I promise it will be worth the extra dough. Mark your calendars for March 27th-28th. For more information and to buy tickets please click here.

And just in case you needed a reason for buying a new pair of shoes, I have listed a few below:

1. Opening Day is April 6th and you can’t be seen at the biggest networking event of the year in last season’s shoes.
2. Because you still want to lose some winter weight and refuse to buy spring pants until you do. Thank goodness feet can’t get fat.
3. For Christians, new Easter shoes—God would want it that way. For everyone else—to show off your new spring pedicure.

Actually, that sounds like three new pairs of shoes to me. Good bye tax refund, hello style!

19
Mar
09

Getting Geeky Chic

I’m all about perfecting nerdy chic this week. Why yes, I did get new glasses. I splurged for an on-sale pair of clear-framed Oliver Peoples (That’s Zoe Deschanel in their new campaign. She’s got an adorable line of sunglasses too).zooey_deschanel_oliver_peoples1-thumb-430x354 I thought mine were a little much at first, but when the sales girl said, “They’re so nerdy. You have to get them.” I knew what she meant. They’re sort of Nelly Yuki meets Raleigh St. Clair. I love them.

The problem now is getting dressed without going into nerdy-hip overload or worse, veering too far in the other direction: schoolgirl-themed-Britney Spears.

17dd_1The solution: unstudied cool booties. I figure I can pair something like these classy black suede ankle boots with skinny jeans (P.S. $5 at posting time) and the new specs.

fc03_1Nine West slouchy booties have an even more dramatic, Oh, I just threw these on. What’s that? You like my glasses too? They’re nothing. I simply didn’t have the patience for contacts today! vibe. Plus, the seller’s got a few pairs and in two different colors.

mt-freemont-blk-1EBay boutique The Shoe Guy has quite a few of these understated Fremont Shooties from Me Too with just the right cut. They’d look smashing with glasses, or anything.

5178_1Finally these vintage Evanise ankle boots, definitely err on the side of ridiculously sexy. But I’ll make an exception. They’re fantastic.

Photo via.




Shoetube on Twitter

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031