04
Apr
09

Spring in My Step

Finally, after months of grey skies, rain and surly people who are at the end of their winter rope, the sun in Berlin is out and the temperature is on the rise. Not only does that mean outdoors is once again my friend, but that when I look into my closet, the sea of black that stares back at me seems less and less welcoming. And of course, with the change of season and summer around the corner comes the quest for the perfect sandal.

birkenstock gizeh

birkenstock gizeh


birkenstock piazza

birkenstock piazza


Over the years I have had little to no success finding an everyday summer shoe. I loathe the flip-flop unless I’m on the beach, abhor anything that rhymes with Reva and find it difficult to feel like a lady if my footwear involves Velcro. But I figure, “when in Germany” and suddenly the offerings of 235 year-old Birkenstock doesn’t seem unreasonable.

My first pair of “Birks” was purchased in 1990. I was younger and wore patchouli. Sure they were comfortable, but fashionable, not so much. Thankfully, over the past almost 20-years, the family owned company based in Frankfurt has stepped up the fashion factor without compromising quality. This season I’m opting for the orange Piazza and line green Gizeh styles. Not only will they inject some life into my big city colour palette, but their commitment to happy feet will keep me on my toes, and heels, all season long.

0 Responses to “Spring in My Step”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Shoetube on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

