08
Jun
09

Spotted in the District: What Is on Your Feet?

As summer settles on the city and temperatures start to rise, so do the sightings of strange sartorial choices–thank you tourists and interns. Sometimes, however, it’s not the visitors who are at fault; we’ll just call those “federal faux-pas.”

This morning I was walking through the Ronald Reagan Building, and I can’t even begin to express the shock and horror experienced when I saw a middle-age woman in a lovely suit with these on toesher feet!!! This time I didn’t even try and hide my reaction: I just stared. Seriously?! Those are even worse than normal commuter shoes! I’m still kind of at a loss for words. Five-fingered footwear may indeed be fabulous: fabulous for hiking, kayaking, climbing, and all other varieties of outdoor activities. Last time I checked, though, going up an escalator doesn’t fall into the hiking/climbing category–not even for the ones at the Woodley Park metro.

Moral of today’s lesson? Most shoes have an appropriate home, and it is the wearer’s resonsibility not to let shoes stray.  Today’s sighting is a perfect example. When taken out of their natural habitat, a perfectly fine outdoorsy shoe can look like somewhat of a freakshow in an office. So please be a responsible owner; I just hate to see a good shoe with a bad owner.

3 Responses to “Spotted in the District: What Is on Your Feet?”


  1. 1 Elizabeth Riley
    June 9, 2009 at 1:50 am

    siiiiiccccckkkk

  2. 2 _anomaly
    June 9, 2009 at 7:00 am

    Maybe she had a medical condition. Did you think about that? Shame on you…

    I like them anyway…

    I want to see these in boots.

  3. June 9, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    The site calls them “alternative performance footwear”… so these seem to be more for serious athletes-in-training, as suspected. I think they are definitely of the function, not form variety, but I wonder what they’d feel like to run in.


Leave a Reply

Shoetube on Twitter

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

