22
Jun
09

Women, Worth, and What to Wear

As the world begins to take notice of the “power of bloggers”, I sometimes get opportunities that are nothing short of overwhelming. Last week was one of those times – I got to have breakfast with Suze Orman.

reactionheelsI am not very smart when it comes to money. As a single, self-employed, woman, I know there are at least three reasons I should get a little better. But yet, there I am, all the time – throwing receipts to the bottom of my bag. Not balancing my checkbook.

When you are a freelancer, living paycheck to paycheck is just not smart living. Not having a savings account – probably even worse. In times of recession, of course, the lunacy of my life is out of control.

Last week, Suze Orman invited a handful of bloggers to join her for breakfast, where she talked a little bit about the era of social networking; but more importantly, to have a close-knit discussion of our own lives, and needs, and worries. Before going, I was excited, but did not know the magnitude of the morning I was about to have. Could I, someone who has scoffed personal organization and money management for years, get anything out if this?

Of course, my mind immediately went to what to wear. As a beauty blogger, it’s often hard to be taken seriously – I wanted to make sure I looked like a grown up. I chose a conservative A-line shift dress in monochrome colors, but decided to pair it with shoes that reflected who I was. I was, for better or worse, a girl living on the edge – what else could I wear but my Kenneth Cole Reaction Know Lace sandals? At under $100, they are sexy, snazzy, classy, AND budget-smart – all the characteristics I myself aim to possess.

By the end of breakfast, I was inspired – far beyond what I expected. I made a decision to start saving, and to look beyond the next week with my finances – because what would become of me if next week, all my work dried up? I learned to respect myself, and put clients, and friends, and situations around me where I felt respected, and nurtured, rather than held back (or held down). I learned that this economy ain’t getting better tomorrow – but we can still be better, within it. Wish me luck!

0 Responses to “Women, Worth, and What to Wear”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Shoetube on Twitter

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

