30
Aug
09

New Shoe or No?

We Bostonians love our marathon more than just about any other sporting event next to baseball (go Sox).

So, invariably, living in Boston, you meet at least one person everday who is “training for a marathon.”  In fact, you are meeting one right now.  After seven years of regular, consistent running and sub-8-minute miles, I am finally at the tail end of the training program for my first real marathon.

For the past two months, I have embarked on the humbling, grueling task of training my mind, body and yes, feet, to travel 26.2 miles in enough time to qualify for the 2010 Boston Marathon.  In my age group, this means running it in 3 hours and 40 minutes.  Suffice it to say: not easy on the body.

So far, I have bought one new pair of Asics since I started, but my question: should I buy another?  For those of you who have run one: is it a bad idea to buy a new pair this far in?  I am on my last two long runs.  Next week is 19 and the one after is 20.  Should I be breaking in a new pair?

We runners tend to be loyal to our shoes and I have worn the same model of Asics for years now, but is it time for a new pair?

Veteran marathoners, I plead: hook a sister up with some advice.  I will keep you all posted.

1 Response to “New Shoe or No?”


  1. August 30, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    Hmm. This is a tough one. I’m not a marathoner but I consulted some friends who said to fight the urge and stick to your broken-in pair. Curious to hear what others say and what you do tho!


Leave a Reply

Shoetube on Twitter

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

