09
Oct
09

I Feel Pretty and Practical in Nina

It was a Pretty Woman experience for me Saturday night at the opening of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra (Although, I was sans one Richard Gere. Sigh). One of the many perks of my new job is being able to attend events that I wouldn’t otherwise go to—red carpet, black tie, beautiful gowns, gorgeous people. Alas, I knew I’d have to wear something amazing. Rather than buy an entire outfit, I decided to jazz up a vintage dress I bought for New Year’s Eve two years ago, but never had the chance to wear. Normally, I would have searched for the funkiest of shoes to counter my solid black dress, but in this situation, I decided a classic shoe was best. The event was traditional, yes, but I needed a shoe that could be worn beyond the weekend. One that would outlive the fall, winter, and possibly spring, trends because of my job. I was looking for longevity. I ended up snagging the Effie by Nina, a 4-inch, black satin shoe with a slight peep toe. Despite my nerves, I felt comfortable in my new purchase. And when opera singer Renee Fleming busted out her rendition of West Side Story‘s “I Feel Pretty,” I can honestly say, I did. Practicality isn’t utilized in the fashion industry often, but in some circumstances it can be quite nice.

Effie by Nina

Effie by Nina

0 Responses to “I Feel Pretty and Practical in Nina”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Shoetube on Twitter

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

